Song Spotlight #4 – Bishop Briggs – River

Sung by singer-songwriter Bishop Briggs,
“River” is a powerful song with an impressive musical range.
From the gentle folk open with fingerpicked guitar,
to the giant surges of bass before the hooks,
and to the trudging rock beat that emerges during the chorus, this song is a unique blend of different musical genres.
The lyrics also convey strong, torn, and controlling tones and moods.

The basic rundown of a song spotlight will include a short excerpt on the artist, my interpretation of the song’s lyrics/meaning, and my favorite aspects of the song.

Check out my analysis under the cut!


 

ARTIST

Bishop Briggs is a singer-songwriter based in Los Angeles, California. This up-and-coming music artist rose to the spotlight with her 2015 debut single “Wild Horses” which was used in the a car commercial for the Acura TLX. This song can be listened to below:

MEANING/LYRICS

How do we fall in love?
Harder than a bullet could hit ya?
How do you fall apart?
Faster than a hair pin trigger?
Don’t you say, don’t say, don’t you say it,
Don’t say it, one breathe it’ll just break it
So shut your mouth
And run me like a river

Shut your mouth
Baby, stand and deliver
Holy hands, ooh they make me a sinner
Like a river
Like a river
Shut your mouth
And run me like a river
Choke this love till the veins start to shiver
One last breathe till the tears stars to wither
Like a river
Like a river
Shut your mouth
And run me like a river!

Read more: Bishop Briggs – River | GENIUS Lyrics

As observed from the first verse and the chorus, the narrator is starting to notice the dysfunction in the relationship, however, they continue to endure it. The narrator is both commanding and submissive, ordering the other partner to not protest and take action under the narrator’s orders.

From the FADER interview with the artist, BISHOP describes her new song as expressing a range of things simultaneously:

“I feel like this song has multiple personalities: strong, weak, torn, controlling, submissive,” she explained to FADER in an email. “They are all a part of me and constantly changing. I think people will feel that.”


Follow Bishop Briggs on her Soundcloud, Twitter, Instagram, and Youtube accounts!


EDIT 08/02/16 : Thank you for all the views! Although I’m not active on wordpress anymore, I updated the song lyrics and some information on the artist 🙂

Published by

Lauren T

Aspiring digital artist or medical student~^^ (totally different paths, I know)

8 thoughts on “Song Spotlight #4 – Bishop Briggs – River”

  1. I love this song, i heard it yesterday on an artist spotlight and I think I have listened to it 10 times lol. Seriously though good music, it’s dark, it’s mine. 😀

    Like

  2. I see the words “run me like a river” more physically, like a sexual act. That’s what it feels like. I think the other phrases are more like, even though things are not great with us, I want/need this, now!

    Like

  3. You don’t have all the lyrics correct. Here are correct lyrics taken directly from the single:
    How do we fall in love, harder than a bullet could hit ya?
    How do we fall apart, faster than a hair pin trigger?

    Don’t you say don’t you say it
    Don’t say don’t you say it
    One breath and it’ll just break it
    So shut your mouth and run me like a river

    Shut Your mouth baby stand and deliver
    Holy hands oh they make me a sinner
    Like a river, like a river
    Shut your mouth and run me like a river
    Choke this love till the veins start to shiver
    One last breath till the tears start to wither
    Like a river, like a river
    Shut your mouth and run me like a river

    Tales of an endless heart
    Cursed is the fool who’s willing
    Can’t change the way we are
    One kiss away from killing

    Like

    1. Ah, thank you! I wrote this post quite a while ago so the information at the time wasn’t as plentiful/accurate. I updated the lyrics and artist info too :).

      Like

  4. Taking the artist at her word is a safe basis for interpretation, but one cannot resist thinking some reference to breath play is intended. From one look at the arresting official video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ug3TnTX7d8, themes of childhood abuse are hinted at as well as suicidality. Granted, it is a powerfully moving lament of a desire for release: The delivery, lyrics and video imagery belie a complex relationship of enduring being in a situation that just feels compelling and gut wrenching. Listeners never know to what extent material is revelatory or accidentally so. With the attribution of lyrics to persons in addition to the lead, we can hope for the best that many more gripping tales are to come.

    It is not often that a simple set of so few words with the frequent refrains engages so much. Is the aesthetic of the impassioned delivery and the mystery what makes this driving song a hit?

    Like

  5. Running a wild river’s current requires you to drive into and through rapids that can swamp your boat. If you let up your drive and focus to take the time to study a rapid in too much detail it may be too late and you won’t have the power to push through it under your own control. A slow river may not swamp you, but also may not get you to your destination in time unless you set the course and work it. So stop talking and stay focused for I need you to get me to my destination.

    Like

  6. It’s definitely “SEX” and sex right “now.” She says : “Shut Your mouth baby stand and deliver” {That’s no talking, which will bring distraction, Just straight up physical action : go for it – like a river}
    “Like a river, like a river”
    “Shut your mouth and run me like a river” There’s no doubt. When she is in that mood, there’s no time for anything else. No hesitation : any hesitation, and the desire will be diminished or lost.

    Like

Leave a comment