Song Spotlight #6 – Starley -Call On Me

Sung by the Australian artist known as Starley,
“Call On Me” is definitely a breath of fresh air for the EDM scene!
Beginning with a lovely acoustic guitar intro,
the song features Starley’s breezy vocals singing lyrics that send positive vibes all around.
Soon, the song drops an infectious electronic beat and transforms the track into a toe-tapping, catchy, tropical tune that is sure to be stuck in your head for the next few days!

Check out my analysis under the cut!


ARTIST

Starley

Born and based in Sydney, Australia, singer-songwriter Starley is a surfacing electronic dance/pop pop artist with a mixed cultural background who is surely going to be around for a long time. Her debut single is “Call On Me” and its music video and her EP is on the way!

MEANING/LYRICS

[Verse: 2]
When you’re weary and the road is dark
And I’ll guide you with the beating of my heart
And if the cavalry and the help don’t come
Well then we’ll find a way to dodge a smoking gun

[Pre-Chorus]
Cuz oh-oh-oh
We’ll say a little prayer
But oh-oh-oh
If the answer isn’t fair

[Chorus]
You know you can call on me
When you need somebody
You know you can call on me
When you can’t stop the tears from falling down

You know you can call on me
Call on me, darling
You know you can call on me
Call on me, darling

The lyrics are about the narrator providing support and wishing hope to their loved one. As observed in the verse above, the narrator would guide their loved one out of dark times, even fight with them against any opposing forces. The pre-chorus and chorus strengthen this theme, overall creating a track with a positive, uplifting message of love and support!


Follow Starley on her Soundcloud, FacebookInstagram, and Twitter accounts!

Published by

Lauren T

Aspiring digital artist or medical student~^^ (totally different paths, I know)

3 thoughts on “Song Spotlight #6 – Starley -Call On Me”

Leave a comment