(Final?) Song Spotlight #7 – Mr FijiWiji, Direct, & Aruna – Time to Say Goodbye

A collaboration between three very capable artists,
“Time to Say Goodbye” is a melancholy track full of emotion.
Beginning with wistful piano chords and slow strings, the song soon drops with a mellow electronic segment.
This combination of the somber lyrics and the deep melodic dubstep portions creates a beautifully sorrowful masterpiece.

This may be my last post on this blog for a while… or even forever. I’d like to thank all those that have followed me or had checked out what I had to offer this past year. I cannot say when or if I will return but I do hope to occasionally revisit and post a thing or two.

So with that said, check out my (possibly final) song analysis under the cut!
The basic rundown of a song spotlight will include a short excerpt on the artist, my interpretation of the song’s lyrics/meaning, and my favorite aspects of the song.


time to say goodbye

ARTISTS

mr fijiwiji

Brendan Galdo, more commonly known as “Mr FijiWiji,” is an EDM producer from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He began making music on the entertainment website Newgrounds. In 2011 signed with Monstercat, an independent record label focused on EDM and dubstep.

direct

Joseph Lyncheski, known as “Direct”is an EDM producer based in New Jersey.

aruna

Aruna, born Aruna Abrams, is an American singer and DJ that is best known for providing vocals for many EDM and dubstep songs. Her current discography includes an EP, album, and being the featured singer on 26 songs (2007-present).

MEANING/LYRICS

Turn around I can’t see your face
Tell me where did you go?
Was it something I did
Something I said
That made it all fall down
Baby, I need to know
Cause I’m losing my faith
And the more I give
The less I get

So tell me we can save this
Where’s my happy ending
Can’t go on pretending any more

All was said
And love takes work
Its been a bumpy ride
And I know how hard you tried
And holding on just makes it worse
It’s best to walk away
If it’s our time to say
Goodbye

Read more: Mr FijiWiji, Direct & Aruna – Time to Say Goodbye

The lyrics of this track express emotions of sorrow and wistfulness as the narrator thinks about what their relationship could have been. In the first verse, the narrator wonders about whether their own actions had caused the collapse of their relationship. In the pre-chorus, the narrator still wishes for the relationship to go well but acknowledges the fact that it isn’t working out. In the chorus, the narrator accepts that the relationship should end and how breaking it off would be for the best.


Thank you for this past year!

I hope you had enjoyed the music and art I had posted, as well as my own interpretations of each song’s lyrics and meanings. I’m not sure if this is the last time I’ll be posting, but if it is, I’d like to cordially say farewell. May we meet again.


Follow and support these artists on their websites and social media accounts!

Mr FijiWiji: Soundcloud, Facebook, Spotify, Twitter
Direct: Website, Soundcloud, SpotifyTwitter
Aruna: Website, SoundcloudFacebookTwitter

Published by

Lauren T

Aspiring digital artist or medical student~^^ (totally different paths, I know)

Leave a comment